WALLS THAT SPEAK

I remember dancing allover the house. It was no mansion for a millionaire but the ability to be myself and conquer not only my fears but also the world was reflected through the walls. They were always trembling. The various beats floating from the neighbors’ houses never gave them any rest. And it was through those beats that I saw my future before me.

Growing up in a wild environment that thrived on nothing but entertainment gave me the hope of doing nothing but putting smiles on the face of the earth. Nothing gave me pleasure like moving my little feet to the beats. The emotion that flowed through me was like nothing I had ever experienced. That was me, the real me.

But along the way, that fearless little girl disappeared.

It started with us moving to another place. One so quiet, that even the barking of dogs was never heard. The walls never spoke and neither did they ever dance. My little feet that were always on the move grew weary with restlessness and as the seasons turned, they forgot how to move.

That silence brewed into loneliness and sooner than later, fear became all that I knew. I lived with it, saw it daily in my eyes, in my not so little feet, all around me. It lived in me. And I became it.

With my feet terrified of movement, and the fear that I had become, I forgot who I was. The girl that was me. The fearless woman I was to become -But died a slow death.

Leave a comment